He wrote his last day on the freaking white board…

Ktlyn615 used to work at an Arab farm where she would regale me with tales of the people who worked there. One of my favorites was when two girls decided that instead of telling someone when there last day was and talking it over they just wrote it on the board. I did not believe that people over the age of 14 actually did things like that. It cracked me up because, well, who does that? Apparently though I am the foolish one because it must be a barn working thing to do.

Yesterday the man (that’s right…a grown 30+ man) who cleans the stalls at the barn where Genny lives and I work wrote his last day on the board. Out of no where! No two weeks notice. Just a “This is my last day today” kind of thing. I know the manager of the farm can seem scary to some…that is why I get paid so well to do barn work. But really she is not actually going to bite you head off if you tell her you are leaving. She might not be happy, but suck it up and deal with it. I guess he was to scared of her reaction (she is less then a 100lbs and less then 5′ tall mind you) so he wrote it on the board.

Since this guy started I have no been a big fan. He just does sloppy stall work. The stalls at the barn really and not that bad. How hard is it to pick up the plastic bits from the shavings bags when you are done so the horses don’t eat it by accident and die? I don’t think it is very hard at all. Even better, why not use a knife and just cut open the shavings bags so you don’t even have to worry about misplaces plastic? The manager dealt with him by just doing the extra work herself. She was getting sick of it but she also knows that I will most likely not be doing barn work in the fall so she wanted to keep him around for backup in case she can’t find anyone else. Since this guy started I have been telling the manager to just fire him and I will do the stalls the other 3 days. I really like to do the night turnout work at the barn so I was hoping she would give him the axe once the work schedule changed.

Yesterday I got the txt “You got your wish…he quit…any chance that you really can do the extra days?”. My answer was of course but my wish was for him to quit AFTER we started night turnout. I guess you can’t always get exactly what you want. So now I am working 6 days a week again, although with bring ins I was already doing that anyway so it really isn’t much of a difference except more stalls. The extra money will be good…and in the summer it is going to be nice to actually pay off Gennyral’s hospital bill!

And in other good news Lori e-mailed me yesterday. She is bringing her daugher, Munchkin, to the local show grounds…did X and I want to come along? The answer was YES! I have been meaning for like a month now to bring X on a field trip…I just need to service my trailer for the year first. Now that we have a ride I can put off serviceing my trailer even more 😛 Just kidding. Serisouly though I am uber excited for a field trip…I think X will love it too…he loves to go places.