Horses in Modern Culture?

As some of you know I am not focusing on my academics very well tonight. In one of my many periods of distraction I located this post

http://thisisyogic.wordpress.com/2008/03/19/horse-logic/

about horses as part of modern culture. I had never really given it much thought, but the points brought up are very interesting. Just wanted to share my blog stumbling’s since this perspective is not that of a horse enthusiast but rather a writer. It is a very well thought out and interesting post. Enjoy.

I am going to ride again!

I just got the e-mail from Lori asking if I wanted to start helping to rehab X. The answer was “yes” of course! It is going to be nothing fancy, just 20 min mostly walk with a little trot for now. That is just fine by me though because at least I am getting back in the tack. I also think that it will be a very valuable period for training his walk. X is resistant to come through his back. Or at least he was when I started riding him in Jan. Now granted he had a broken hip at the time so I might not have an accurate assessment, but getting to spend some time at the walk is a good thing.

I can work on my free walk. I have always gotten great scores on my free walk (7s usually) on every horse I have shown and I do not want X to be the exception. It will also be good to do medium to free to medium again which will count for a  chunk of scores on our tests this summer. I am going to just go out lower training level this year. I will post more on that at another point but I am going to take it slow and steady this time around. I am lucky to have a horse and owner that I adore, I want to enjoy the experience. The walk is a very hard gait to change, but I am up for the challenge. A good walk is a very important thing for my dressage horse to have. It is an excellent foundation to start with while Lori and I rehab X.