Enjoying The Ride

I have been riding (I HAVE BEEN RIDING!!) pretty consistently for about 2 months now. I am on cloud 9 about it. I keep starting posts about what we are working on or about D himself, but with it being 2 months in and only one post about my new catch ride, I figured it was time to just post something about how happy I am! Please enjoy the handful of photos from my ride two weeks ago. My hubby offered to come out and take pictures so I had to take advantage of that offer right!

Working on forward


The current situation is really ideal for me and my life right now. Not only do I get to ride whenever I want Monday-Friday (and even occasionally on weekends when D’s owner is busy) but I have this amazing freedom to being able to pick which ever days work best with my schedule. D’s owner is the best and is very laid back and just happy that her horse is noticeably happier and better behaved both on the ground and under saddle these days now that I am riding him. I do not needing to do anything else but enjoy riding and giving D attention. There are no goals, no problems to be fixed and nothing to rehab from. For the first time in a long time I have a horse that I can afford (D’s owner is amazing, that I can ride, who knows what he is doing, who is safe and who is healthy. Yes, I just knocked on wood. It is blissful. I have no idea how I got so lucky, but I really am enjoying every minute of it!

Canter transition, a work in progress, but we are getting there!


D has very solid basics, but his owner loves the trails so he doesn’t do much ring work anymore, or at least he didn’t until I came in the picture. The funny thing is, I was worried when I first started with him that he would get ring sour, I can’t imagine going from fun walks around the woods once or twice a week to working in the ring a few days a week, but he actually seems to really like it. He really gets in to learning new things and he tries his heart out whenever he learns something new.

Enjoying the challenge of teaching him things like Haunches In


I have been trying to go slow with him, both in building his fitness up and in teaching him new things. There is no rush to do anything, he doesn’t need to learn how do a shoulder-in ever really, but it, and other dressage moves are just something I think would be good for him. He is really funny because I can tell by his ears how he is feeling about things, they are forward when he is confident in what he is doing, floppy when we do basic stuff he already knows, and they go backwards and forwards constantly when he is trying to understand what I am saying and learning something new. It is just really sweet. Can you tell I am smitten? I am. I really like him, which is funny because I never thought that would happen before I started riding him.

Is there anything in this world better than this?


I have no idea how long this will last, but for now, I am just enjoying every minute of it!