I’ve been a terrible trailer owner…

  
So I got a used horse trailer a few months after I got Gen. It took us to many lessons and shows and I am so happy I had it. That was 10 years ago now. I can’t even say I barely use it anymore…I haven’t used it in 2 years! I keep it at the farm Gen is boarded it and use it as storage. It is kept up by the ring so I rarely even look at it. One of the other boarders left a note on the board to let me know one of the trailer tires was low. It still has taken me about a week to even bother coming to put in air in. 

When I finally got up here tonight I looked at it and immediately felt terrible. My poor trailer is clearly neglected! There is green scuz all over it and while one tire was clearly flat, all of them were low. The trailer is a 1995 sundowner, and at this moment it looks it.

If I am being honest with myself, I think the time has come to let go of it. There is a small part of me that isn’t ready for that yet…a teensy tiny voice that says my show days are not over yet. 

How long should one keep a trailer for with a retired horse when you are not riding or showing anything else?

6 thoughts on “I’ve been a terrible trailer owner…

  1. Trailers aren’t just for showing. What are your emergency plans for when Gen needs to see the vet like IMMEDIATELY and the only option is to trailer him there? That is MY reason for having a trailer (plus I take the occasional lesson).

  2. A trailer needs to be maintained. Using it regularly is usually best. Perhaps you have a friend who could use a trailer that would be willing to matintain it in exchange for using it at will? You would still own if but it would be used and maintained

  3. There have been times when my trailer looks like it was part of the Jumanji set! Covered with vines and green stuff. I knew I needed to pressure wash it when someone recently commented that I must not use it often. In fact, I use it every week! It’s clean now. But seriously, having a trailer is very helpful in an emergency so even if you don’t use it often, it’s helpful to have it.

  4. Murphy’s Law…

    The minute you get rid of your trailer (or leave it in an unusable condition) you will need it for an emergency. Ask me how I know, after spending all yesterday afternoon hauling the horse next door (six hours round trip) off island for an emergency choke episode.

Leave a Reply

