Some times it is easy to forget that my horse isn’t norma

IMG_0008.JPG

So I know that that picture looks scary, but actually Gen is okay. That is just him, his body, dealing with running around yesterday. It is very easy to look at my horse most days and wonder why he is retired, but after days like yesterday it is very clear that he just isn’t a normal horse.

Gen got hurt back in 2007. He has been retired ever since. I did try and get on him one summer a few years ago, but I genuinely am worried about riding him. We have vet clearance to walk under tack, but that is it. Knowing that Gen is a hot horse, I choose to keep my feet on the ground. He was not supposed to live this long, but I am really happy that he has.

He has already far exceeded my expectations. When he first got hurt I thought that his life would be getting turned out with boots on in a little 20 x 20 field. He has now gone out for years without boots and he has a three quarter of an acre pasture all to himself.

The thing is, he really is still fragile. He is not a normal horse. His leg is never going to completely heal. It is my job to try and keep him quiet in order to keep him alive. Yesterday I tried something new…and well I do not regret doing it it did remind me that he is always going to be my special boy. The entire time that he was running the barn owner and I were both worried about him. The good news is that we did not need to be. He didn’t hurt himself.

The picture above, from this morning, is actually normal for Gen after a really strenuous day. Because his leg is not normal, when ever he over exerts his tendon, he has what is called micro tearing. That means that his tendon is so weak that if we ultrasound it right now we would probably see dozens of mini tears all in it. The good thing is that Gennyral can heal himself from these many tears. So as long as he stays quiet for the next few weeks his leg will look as good as new, well, as good as Gen leg can be anyway.

I am no longer the crazy owner I used to be. these days, I am just happy to have Gen around. I will not wrap him, I will not keep him in. He can heal himself. He has done in the past. I know he is hurting today, but not just from his leg. He is very sore. All over. I thought about giving him a little Bute, but decided that it is okay for him to be reminded that he is no spring chicken. He will be a good boy. He likes the life that he leads, and he isn’t about to put that in jeopardy. I just wish that he had been a good boy yesterday.

Oh Gennyral…why must you make everything we do an adventure?!?!

One thought on “Some times it is easy to forget that my horse isn’t norma

Leave a Reply

