Maybe I spoke to soon…

</I think there are two reasons why Lucky being hurt is bumming me out so much and causing me to think about giving up riding. The first is something I will share in another post. The second is that I don’t want to start over. I am tired of starting over. I just don’t know if I have it in me to start over with another horse.

The good news is that maybe I don’t have to. Lucky seems to be getting better. Right after the vet said it was okay to ride I got on and her lameness was back up to a 3+ or 4. I am very relieved to say that the extra week off seems to have helped (or maybe it is the joint supplement?). When I got on Lucky on Monday I felt like her lameness was down to a 1+. I would categorize her as serviceably sound right now, which is a heck of a lot better than how I would have say she felt two weeks ago.

So my dramatic fit and feelings of misery may have been for nothing (which would make me very happy). I might still have a horse after all. My goals for 2014 are very reasonable. If she gets better I will be able to do everything I want. Which is…do a few hunter paces (even if I have to only walk and trot) and show at training level in dressage. I am not asking for collection, trying to gallop through the fields, or jump 3 foot. I just need Lucky to be able to stay sound during a light to average work load.

The question is, is she really getting better and can I count on her to be sound long term? The answers to those questions are unknown. I am going to keep trying though because honestly, at this moment if it is not Lucky, I don’t want to ride. Immature statement? Yes, but that is how I feel. I just want to enjoy a horse that I have put a lot of hard work in to.

Monday may have been a fluke. And even if it wasn’t the vet had very valid concerns about her long-term soundness in her right hind (her left is the one that is currently injured). So right now I am not making any plans for the future. I am going to take November and just try to see if she can stay sound with 10 minute of walk, building to 30 minutes of walk/trot. That has to be enough for me right now.

6 thoughts on “Maybe I spoke to soon…

  1. This post makes me feel a little less worried about you because you seem a little less down. Which makes me happy. I just want to reiterate that I love you and will support you 100% no matter what you decide about riding and no matter what’s going on with Lucky, and I am always a text/phone call/email/short drive away should you ever need to vent, discuss, or chat.

  2. The fact that a maybe-temporary improvement has lifted your mood tells me you want to ride. Keep this feeling, no matter what happens in the future. Here’s to Lucky being sound, but even if she isn’t, you’re good.

Leave a Reply

