Showing??

So you will notice I have been awfully quiet about showing. Anyone who has been reading my blog for any length of time can tell you that I love to show. I really do. I think it is a lot of fun to get all dressed up and go somewhere to have an objective person look at your hard work and let you know what they think. Plus there is the fun of seeing old friends (or making new ones) and of course, RIBBONS! I am still planning on showing this year, but not as much as I did last year. There are several reasons for that. One of which gets a post on its own, the rest of which I will share with you today.

So before Lucky got hurt I was more excited about showing. I had even wanted to do a show in March! When she got hurt I got really bummed out. I feel like I have bad Mojo when it comes to training level. I have been wanting my stupid GMO Bronze Medals forever, but it just never seems to work out for me. A normal person gets their bronze medal in a year, I can’t seem to get mine in a decade! It has just been really frustrating and I am trying not to be all negative and feel like it will never happen, but … well it has just been hard to get excited about this year since a part of me (albeit a small part) thinks it isn’t going to happen.

The other thing that is keeping me from showing is that there just aren’t a lot of shows in my immediate area this year. There is a brand new show grounds this year, but they are not a year round place, they stop hosting shows in early June. In exchange for that one of the other local shows decided to stop doing shows this year. I still have my local show grounds, but that kind of feels like it for the close shows right now. I know that very few of you would consider an show an hour away far, but I have been spoiled with having several shows 15 minutes away (or less).

I also need to show less for financial reasons. I spent too much money on showing last year. I honestly want to try and cut my showing budget in half. I actually felt a little burned out with all the showing I was doing last year, and my wallet was feeling the pain. Instead of entering for so many and potentially scratching I am planning on not doing many shows in July and August when it is humid and icky.

I also know that this year I am playing with the big boys. Well, not really the big boys, but their clients. Lucky and I will be showing in Training Level this year. This is always the largest class at a show and is filled with people who have a lot more resources than I do. Do I sound jealous? Because I am! This is total jealousy talking so please be aware!

Lucky and I are in an area with TON of top dressage trainings. In fact, at the nations cup  last weekend the highest placing Americans at both levels are both really close by (like under half an hour). These trainers have lots of clients and these clients can afford to get nice horses. Lucky and I will be showing against these trainers on their young horses if they just break up the classes in to Juniors vs. Seniors.

We will also be going up against a lot of Adult Amateurs who spent 10, 20 or even 30 thousand dollars on a horse and who are in full or partial training. I would LOVE to get 3-5 lessons a week, but I just can’t afford it. I know that Lucky and I would be a lot farther along if we had such consistent training, but that just wasn’t in the cards. My borrowed rescued horse is wonderful, but she is not exactly a horse destined for dressage greatness. So basically I just know that I while Lucky and I are going to be fine this year, we are not exactly going to be kicking ass and taking names if you know what I mean. I wish that Lucky and I were going to be going out and scoring 75% at training level this year, but I just don’t think that is going to happen.

Since I am not going to even bother to go for year end awards, well I don’t mean it like that. I mean, Lucky and I will be doing enough shows to qualify. I just am not going to be points chasing this year. I am going to save my money this year and really just enjoying my fantastic horse. I honestly think we should be able to get scores in 60%s and to me, that is plenty good enough for right now.

A big part of my lack of enthusiasm for showing is going to be another post…

4 thoughts on “Showing??

  1. Showing should be about earning your own personal best, and improving scores and comments. Too often, it becomes “beating the other guy”, and “getting a fancier ribbon than everyone else”.
    Learn to make it about improving your scores, and you’ll always be a happier rider.

    *this concludes my $0.02 for the day*

  2. I’m in the same boat, but, I do have to agree with Jennifer, too. I show because it’s fun! I don’t care where I place in the class, or who I’m riding against, as long as we do better than the last show, it’s a success. I’ll do maybe one or two small schooling shows this year, just for fun. I’d rather save my showing funds to pay annual fees for foxhunting anyway! 😀

Leave a Reply

