January Goals

So instead of doing goals for all of 2013 right now, I think it is best if I just go month by month this year. Long term goals are not in the game plan this year, so I am going to try and come up with 3 goals per month that I want to accomplish.

This month is easy. I have been a complete and total slacker in the riding department as of late. I literally can count the number of times I have ridden since Halloween on one hand! It is utterly pathetic and completely unacceptable. Not only that, but I have only been going out to see Lucky like every 10 days or so. I have been busy, even Gen got down to 4 visits one week, but if I have time for Gen I should have time for Lucky also. It is not fair.

Even with the ring being iced up there is still plenty that Lucky and I can do to improve. That being said, the ring wont be iced up forever. In fact, for the next 5 days at least the weather forecast is in the 40s and sunny! Sure, it is nearly impossible to get out of work at 3:30 (which is when I need to leave if I want to ride because it gets dark by 5 and Lucky is about an hour away from work) but even if I just ride on the weekends and see her during the week that is far better than I am doing now. That is why my first two goals are…

1) Ride at least 2 days a week, even if it is for 10 minutes at the walk. Something is always better than nothing and a person (or horse) cannot get better without practice.

2) Get to Lucky’s at least 3 days a week. Even if the footing is bad and I cannot ride I can at least do ground work with her. She is a mare, and she is not very happy with my lack of visits as of late. She enjoys being pampered and it is good for her brain to do something so even if all we do one day a week is work on moving her haunches on the ground or stretching her neck I know it will help us in the saddle. Do I want to pasture pets? Of course not! I want to ride Lucky, but I need to remember that even when I can’t she is still a living, breathing creature who deserves love and attention none the less.

My last goal is all about Gen…and it is mother nature dependent. When I got Gen in 2005 I was getting my NAHRA instructor certification. The place I was getting it was on a mountain, so naturally I had to board Gen on an even taller mountain. That meant lots of snow. Gen loves the snow. I started the tradition of taking pictures every year of Gen in the snow. Except that life got busy last year…and during the two times it snowed I didn’t get to the barn for days until after it was dark. So no snow pictures😦 The only not bad thing about having a grey horse is that you can take great black and white photos in the snow. So I need to remedy my mistake from last year for my goal number 3…

3) Take a snow photo of Gen

2 thoughts on “January Goals

Leave a Reply

