2012 – What a great year!

Lucky and I had a terrible 2011, but I think it worked out for the best because as not fun as 2011 was, 2012 was the total opposite.

The best thing about 2012 is that I still have my Gennyral. I never thought I would even get to see Gen live until he was 20, so to have not only get there, but have a good year to boot was amazing. Gen is happy and as healthy as he can be. Don’t worry, I am knocking on wood right now. So far so good though. I hope he does as well in 2013.

Lucky managed to give me my best show year since Gen this year. She learned how to self load and went from a screaming herd-bound mess off the property to being a total show pro. I cannot even tell you all the complements I get about her stellar attitude at shows, which is even sweeter after the rough start we had.

We went from getting 50%s to getting 70%s at our last show of the year! Even though things were not exactly perfect (thank you Gen for killing my finger before championships) I still did way more shows than I have ever done before. I also finally achieved my life long goal of being able to go to a show on my own. I am still proud of that!

With Lucky and I having such a rough start I wasn’t expecting a lot from year end awards, but we are ending the year with not one, but TWO Reserve Championships and a 7th place that we know of so far. I am so proud of us! Even better is the confidence that I have on Lucky. We can splash through creeks, gallop in the fields, and of course do work in the ring. I trust her, and she trusts me, which is a great thing.

You never know what 2013 will bring, but if it is anything like 2012 I think I am in for a good year!

7 thoughts on “2012 – What a great year!

  1. You and Lucky make a good team. I’m so happy for you that you achieved a lot of your goals and congratulations on the awards! Gen looks happy and healthy and I’m sure he’ll have a good year too.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

