So Happy!

So I am so excited that even a Hurricane can’t bring me down now! You know the shows I have been going to this year that are like an hour away? The ones that I have to go in the scary highway for but I have made myself go to because they offer their own separate year ends?

Well I got lucky, very lucky with my Lucky. They just published their year end awards for dressage and…

Lucky and I are reserve champions in our division!!!

Totally by default! Only two of us did all the requirements!!!! I was so worried about the tons of people who were just one show away from qualifying, but clearly they are all much more mature than I am because they didn’t care they were one show away from a giant ribbon!

So now the question is…should I go to the banquet?

Normally that is not even a question, but I don’t know if I want to go to this one…

One reason is that the banquet is the weekend after Thanksgiving. I have family in town (and I reserve dragging horsey friends to these things, never family) so I would be missing out on time with them. The other reason is that these things are expensive. At about $100 a pop for myself and a guest that can add up, especially since I am having the best show year I have ever had and am qualified for year end awards from 4 separate organizations. I could just go alone, but I don’t even know if I want to go.

You see…I ended up scratching from the last two shows. The one in Sept I scratched the night before the show at like 8pm when I was still sitting at my desk at work. I thought I was being courteous by doing it the night before, but they left my name in the class. I was a little miffed to see my name with a 0 next to it when they published the class results. It should have been listed as a scratch. A 0 makes it look like I was a no show or I was eliminated. Not the biggest deal in the world, but I pride myself on my excellent reputation so I wasn’t crazy to see that.

I almost didn’t sign up for the October show because of it, but I told myself I was being ridiculous, that no one cares about that sort of thing and they probably just didn’t know how to do a scratch in the system since this was their first year as show managers. So I put my entry in. And then Gen killed my hand.

This time I e-mailed them my scratch well before the closing date. I explained that it was a medical issue and that I could get a doctors note if they needed one to refund my money. I was also trying to be upfront so I told them I was still going to try and attend the GMO Championships, but that I would not be able to do their show.

Clearly I pissed them off because I got a reply that was not so friendly. Since I could get a doctors note and it was before the closing date they tore up my entry, but I could tell they were not happy campers with me. I am a very upfront person, but showing the e-mail to others the consensus was that I should not have told them I was going to Championships. I get that, I was just trying to not be shady…all well.

So anyway, that is the last contact that I had with them. They were not mean, just very clearly annoyed. Should I go anyway? I just don’t know. But I do know that I am very, very happy with a red, yellow and white!

3 thoughts on “So Happy!

  1. Congratulations!!! I don’t get why the management would be mad that you had to scratch two shows but still attended Championships. As long as you stil qualified for Championships, why would it matter which shows you did or didn’t do? I say go to the banquet if you want to! Who cares if they are “mad” at you or not? Don’t let your perception of what someone else might or might not think ruin your accomplishment. 🙂

    • Eh, I don’t feel particularly proud of a 2nd by default. Don’t get me wrong, I will HAPPILY take it, but it isn’t much of an accomplishment in my book. First by default, now that is totally different story 😛

  2. Congratulations – how exciting!

    Not sure about the banquet! I always go on how I’m feeling at the time, or prior to – depends on how you feel overall! Or, make a decision and see how that sits with you and if it makes you feel not so good, go for the other option?

Leave a Reply

