I just wish someone would tell me what to do…

So it is very, very early in the morning after a late night last night with a long day before it. I feel like a car who has the gas light on but the owner is driving on! I haven’t even been home for 8 hours a day this week so sleep is just not happening at this point. I am sure plenty of you out there can relate. One 14 hour day of work in a week is no big deal…but this whole week has been non-stop. I haven’t even had time to eat dinner this week (which is normally at the top of my priority list :P). When I woke up this morning I started crying because I was sooooo tried. I just ache all over, which is my body telling me to go back to bed! Sorry…I will stop complaining. I don’t have time too anyway 😛

What I am trying to figure out is if I should go to the show tomorrow. I had the most amazing show last night. Lucky was PERFECT. I have no idea how I got so lucky to have her peak on the day of a a championship show, but it was great!

When I went to bed last night I was 90% sure I wasn’t going. I am so tired that I am starting to make stupid mistakes. For example, I forgot to hose off the right half of Lucky. I hosed off her left side and went to sweat scrape her when I realized. Her owner thought it was cute…I was pretty upset with myself. At least I caught it right?

The only thing I would be doing instead of the show would be sleeping. They made my ride time at 8:13 so I would have to get up at 4:00 in order to get there on time. Last night if you asked me is sleep was more important than a show I would have said yes! I am so tired right now, but I am fighting through it today so I could fight through it tomorrow.

I don’t need to go to the show. Lucky was PERFECT last night so I feel ready for the other championships at the end of the month. There are only 3 people in my class though I would get a ribbon. But are 2 ribbons worth waking up at 4am? Especially since I will be going to bed late again because I would have to work late and then do all my show prep. But if I don’t go I will most likely loose my 2nd place in the standings. It looks like I am guaranteed a top 6 finish though, so do I care what color the ribbon it? I might loose that second place standing anyway even if I do go because the woman who always beats me will be there and the other person is currently in 4th but getting better every show and came in second last show.

I just don’t know what to do. I know that no matter what I will regret my decision…this is a no win situation for me. It is times like this where I wish I was a kid again so someone else could make the decision for me! Notice I still haven’t scratched so clearly part of me wants to go. The other part of me thinks I am crazy for even considering it…Is sleep more important than a show? What should I do!

7 thoughts on “I just wish someone would tell me what to do…

  1. I think instead of looking at it as a “no win” situation for you, you need to look at it as an “either win”. In one case, you’ll win much-needed rest and in the other case, you’ll have a good show. Only you can answer whether it’s worth going. But I would look at it this way… Will you be able to give yourself and Lucky a fair ride if you get up at 4am after this long week? Will you be safe to drive the trailer, let along getting on and riding? Keep us posted regarding what you decide and let us know how you did at the Thursday Night Championships!!!

  2. My favorite saying when MY life is crazy busy: That which doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. And when you’re so tired you’re washing half a horse, you generally don’t have the energy to be nervous and THAT’s why everything went well. No pressure ;o) This is the time for a double venti double-caf Starbuck’s with extra shots. Just enough to get you through ONE. MORE. DAY. Don’t make it easy for the woman who is your competition to walk off with all the goodies. Go for it!

  3. It sounds like you really want to go. Which will be fine as long as you’re not putting yourself or Lucky in a dangerous situation where either of you could get hurt. You don’t need to fall off or fall asleep at the wheel. Then again, it’s an early show time, so you could show at 8:00 pack up and go home and get some sleep. It’s really up to you to know if you feel up to it.

    • I never drink coffee, and I am getting some sleep, just not the 7 hours a night I like. I am still undecided, but work isn’t going well so I am leaning towards no…

  4. If you’re not feeling gung-ho about it, I wouldn’t bother. You were SO happy last night and it went SO well. If you feel so-so about tomorrow, you may only do so-so. I say end on a good note and use this weekend to catch up on some z’s.

  5. Knowing what little bit I know about you…you’ll be kicking yourself if you don’t go and drop to 3rd place. Try to get a little rest though. You have to be safe too like others said. And after all this is done, remind me to tell you about the 15 minute nap. Its life changing. Well, sort of!

Leave a Reply

