You are the only person I know who tenses up for a DOWNWARD transition

My trainer had time the other week to come out and see Lucky and I. She hadn’t seen us since before Thanksgiving, so I was excited for her to come by and see our progress. Sure enough, she was impressed with how far we have come. We have three good gaits, breaks, and even the starts of lateral work. I made her laugh though without meaning too…

I love to go fast. That is the reason Gen never really scared me. When he would get stressed-out we would just gallop, which made me smile and made him relax. When I started with Lucky she had a hard time stopping, but it didn’t bug me, I just laughed it off. When I dream of my ultimate horsey fantasy I picture galloping through the fields, not a calm ride at the beach or something like that. Fast = fun to me.

So in working with Lucky I have worked hard to make her upwards and the canter itself as good as possible. Where I am lacking in time and effort is the downward from canter to trot. It has become a bit of a mental block for me to be honest. So that was something that needed to be fixed. It took a few transitions before my trainer could see what was going wrong. I was bracing AGAINST the transition. Everything would go rigid and I would pull. My trainer started to laugh when she realized what was happening. Apparently most people get nervous to go TO the canter, not to get out of it.

Not me. Going back to trot is much more stressful! We worked on it and it got better, but we are still a long ways off from a nice downward. My homework is to do a little leg yield in the downward and to breath before I ask. The canter itself is looking nice, but the downward has a ways to go…

3 thoughts on “You are the only person I know who tenses up for a DOWNWARD transition

  1. Your trainer would have the same reaction to me. My down transes are horrid. Horse goes hollow, throws his head up because I throw away the reins or am “caught off guard” and fall foward. I try to remember to sink my weight into my heels and “keep the grip” on the reins (rather than GET a grip and move onward, my other mantra ;o) and sometimes it works but mostly I have to take the first few trot strides to get myself back together, get the horse back where HE belongs and move onward. Talk about being a long ways off ;o)

Leave a Reply

