I know I am not alone when I say that I hate summer heat…

So most people love the summer. The warm weather, swimming, fresh corn, barbeques, etc. Before Gen, I too enjoyed the summer months. For the past 7 years I have learned that summer is not fun. In fact, it is exactly the opposite. Summer is torture.

Gen is not a hot weather horse. At all. Even at 85 degrees he will start to pout. He is much happier in November than he is in July. Over the years I have been at various barns and figured out what works best for Gen. Before Gen moved to the barn he is at now they didn’t do night turnout. I told the owner I couldn’t move in unless they went out at night in the summer. She asked me to try it her way first, so the first two months at the barn were rough. When she saw just how badly Gen did in the heat she agreed to do nights.

Gen also must have a fan. Before we moved to where we are now Gen didn’t have a fan. I knew I would never let that happen again if I could help it. Gen loves his fan and will stand sleeping with his nose right up to it and a cool breeze coming across his neck and chest. Out of any horse I know he really appreciates the fact that humans can create a breeze for him in his stall.

Night turnout and a fan are great, but Gen also needs his mommy to come and hose him off. With work, I can’t get out there at 1pm as I would like too, but even though I come out later I know Gen is still happy for a break. He sweats more than any retired horse I know, which of course leads to fungus and other fun skin conditions. I find that I can keep all that yucky stuff at bay as long as I rinse my boy off every day. I make sure that I use the cool water to also help drop his core temperature which will help him for a few hours after the bath.

So why am I telling you all this? I know I have said it all before on my blog. Well, the next week is going to suck. It is going to be above 90 and humid every singe day. Gen is a total crab in the heat, so he is going to be a big jerk for the next week. No matter how hard I try to lessen the impact, Gen still has to deal with summer. Which means that I have to deal with Gen in the summer. Which means that I am going to be anxious and stressed about Gen for at least the next week. What I really need to do is find a barn with an air-conditioned stall…and field…and a person who can walk next to Gen with a fan all day…

6 thoughts on “I know I am not alone when I say that I hate summer heat…

  1. I’m with you. In the winter, I ride regularly on a happy horse. In the summer, not so much. Here in Southern Calif. the summer is like other’s winter — if the temp is in the 90s or above I don’t ride. That means I either ride very early in the morning or not at all. I hate summer too. Aspen Meadows.

  2. I’m not a summer person either. I hate summer and the heat and humidity, can’t wait until autumn rolls around again. I don’t ride in the heat and I think the horses thank me for it. We do night turnout and have fans during the day in the barn too. It’s as much as we can do for them, besides fly masks I guess.

  3. I’m with you too! My horse hates summer and everything that goes with it – the heat, the bugs, the humidity. He however does not appreciate being hosed off/baths in general so Gen is much luckier than him! It’s going to be in the 90s all week here as well. Ugh… The poor horses!

    Then again, I don’t think I like summer too much either! 🙂 An air conditioned, fly proof field (and barn!) sounds excellent.

  4. I’m sorry, I LOVE summer. Not crazy about these 90 deg days or the bugs, but I love the feeling of grass between my toes and wearing shorts and planting my garden. The horse prefers it a bit cooler to be ridden but just standing around he seems fine.

Leave a Reply

