The June 23rd Fun Show – Part 3

Even more horses came in to the ring for halter. I love my Lucky, but she absolutely has some conformational flaws. I knew that in a class this size I would not be placing. I did my best to show her off as best as I could, but I was not surprised to be out of the ribbons when they were announced.

With so many people at the show I decided to put Lucky on the trailer for a few minutes since the In Hand trail class would likely take over an hour. Sure enough Lucky got a nice 30 minute nap before I pulled her out again to get ready to go in the show ring. I had learned from previous shows that for the in hand trail class you are not supposed to go in to the obstacles with the horses. I kept that in mind so as we walked towards the bridge and Lucky hesitated I just stood calmly next to her. She put her front feet on and decided to swing her haunches over. I know that had I walked on the obstacle first, she would have gone on, but with that not being an option I just moved her over and went to the next obstacle. Lucky was great. I thought we were perfect through most of the course.

On the last obstacle, a group of poles on the ground that you need to go in and then back out of, she was a little confused, but I stayed out of the obstacle and she got it after a few steps. Since most other people were going in to the obstacles I assumed that they would loose points. The more people I saw the more excited I got that I would place. Well, clearly I didn’t do as well as I thought because when they announced the top 6 I wasn’t among them. Not only that, but some of the people who had been going through the obstacles with their horses had placed.

To Be Continued…

One thought on “The June 23rd Fun Show – Part 3

Leave a Reply

