Luck’s First TND – Part 2

Lucky and I had been fighting for 15 minutes about loading. I was concerned because I was alone on the farm. I couldn’t even ask someone to help me. Lucky had to self load on that trailer or we were not going anywhere. I would consider myself a pretty patient person, but Lucky was really pushing it. I was starting to get frustrated. I kept reminding myself to breath and just keep expecting the best. After 25 minutes of trying to get her on I was ready to pull my hair out. I had no choice but to keep trying so we just kept at it. When she would stop I would tap her behind the leg (either front or hind depending on how far back she stopped). She would then rear or fly backwards, I would take a breath, circle her and try again.

 

After almost 30 minutes Lucky just walked on. Seriously! I have no idea what changed, but suddenly she just walked on. I quickly put up the butt bar up and stepped back. I looked at my watch, it was 5:00. I could still show. I was completely and utterly rattled at that point in the night though. Showing must be fun for Lucky, but how could I make it fun when I was ready to cry. I took 3 deep breaths and put up the ramp while I walked to the cab trying to figure out what I wanted to do. I got in the passengers side, closed the door, and promptly started crying.

 

It wasn’t so much the I was crying about the fact that she wouldn’t get on, rather, I was upset that I was alone. I want a barn to show with. I don’t want to have to worry about this sort of thing. I want to put on my matching barn polo and sit at the barn having a cocktail as some groom loads my horse. Okay, not really, but at that moment that is what I was feeling. Don’t get me wrong, it is great that I can show on my own, but at that moment I needed support. I cried for a solid 5 minutes before I looked down at myself still in my work clothes. Lucky was screaming in the trailer. Was I going to give up so easily? Was I going to let a little blip of her not getting on the trailer ruin my night? I have more perseverance than any other horse person I know. Was I really going to give up now after everything I have been through? Heck no!

 

As I looked at my Lucky freaking out in the back I opened the door and told her to chill. She was going to a horse show and were going to have fun! She chose to ignore me. I took my show clothes and got myself ready. I promised myself that by the time I walked to the truck again I would have let go of the trailer loading about be totally focused on the show. I was true to my word and by the time we made the three minute drive to the show (and for the record I had thought about just riding her there, but I felt like that would be sending her a bad message) I was okay.

To Be Continued…
4 thoughts on “Luck’s First TND – Part 2

  1. I think you did a great job getting in control of your nerves after lucky was such a pain about getting on the trailer…
    I am the exact opposite of you in that I am a lot more nervous when I have other people around. I prefer doing things by myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love my friends but I find it easier to keep my nerves in check when I am alone.
    It’s probably the biggest reasons why I’ve never been good at showing. Being watch and judged by others drives me crazy!.
    Now if I could only do what you did in reverse order, I might be able to show

  2. Good for you for getting control of your nerves and driving to the show after all. Even if you end up not going in your class, (oh the suspense!) it is good for her to not think she can get out of doing things with you.

    I can totally get having a barn to show with – but, man, you are doing so awesome on your own! You should be really proud of what you have accomplished so far. I don’t even own a truck or trailer, let alone being able to show! 😀

  3. Good for you for not giving up on getting her to load! Even if you had decided not to go, you HAD to get her on that trailer once you started. And trust me, doing this on your own will give you a sense of pride you’d never get with a big show barn. With that pain comes great triumph!

    And by the way, expect Lucky to pull that loading stunt again next time or three. We went through something similar a few years ago. It lasted about 5 shows and then he was done with that game.

Leave a Reply

