20 Minutes…

The title for this post could also be “making time to ride”. In past years I was really good at riding 4-5 times a week. After Phoenix though it got hard to hold myself to that kind of schedule. I got more and more busy with non-horsey things like work, so I just didn’t worry about it when I only made it up to the barn on weekends. This year though I have decided that 2-3 days a week is not acceptable. If I am going to show I need to be putting in the effort in between rides to improve, not just coasting along during the season.

Back around Easter I rode for 5 days in a row…and we got a lot better. That was when I decided to pick up my game and get to the barn more, no matter what. And since then I have been doing at least 4 days a week. Doing 4-5 days a week might not sound like a whole lot, but it is clearly showing in Lucky’s shiny coat and calmer attitude that she likes to be ridden more. That is a good motivator to keep it going!

Finding the time can be hard though. Let’s say I have plans to go to a late dinner at 8pm on a Wednesday, and I don’t get out of work until 4:30. A few months ago I wouldn’t have tried to ride, just gone to see Gen and then home to take a shower. Now though I am really making an effort to go no matter what.

Sometimes that means I ride for literally 20 minutes. It can be very frustrating to have her go well and know that I need to get off, but I tell myself that even 20 minutes is better than no minutes. Logically it is stupid to spend 20 or more minutes grooming (She hardly ever rolls! I love her) before and after the ride for only 20 minutes or ride time, but if that is what I need to do right now, that is what I need to do right now. When the weather is just okay, I make myself go see Lucky anyway. I might feel like the wicked witch of the west sometimes, but I really won’t melt in the rain 😛

Sure, it is much easier and much more relaxed to only ride on the weekends, but if I want to have my little show princess pony I need to be putting in work and riding during the week. Sometimes I cut down on my Gen time (he might have to suffer and only get a 20 minute grooming instead of a 45 minute one…his life is clearly horrible), but I am trying not to think of riding during the week as a choice. I need to think that way because I have goals…and those goals involve riding better!!

3 thoughts on “20 Minutes…

  1. Good for you! It’s always hard to make time to ride especially when there are so many other things that need doing. I often have the same problem, wouldn’t it be nice to be a diva and just have to show up to ride everyday without a care in the world?

  2. That sounds like a good goal. Just keep in mind that a rushed, bad ride is not always better than not riding at all.

Leave a Reply

