The “Three Word” horse show – Embarrassing – Part 1

So the morning of the show I was actually a little nervous about the whole thing. Looking back I am not sure if I was nervous about the show itself or if I was just nervous about going to a show by myself with a horse that has not shown before. Either way it was the first time in a long time that I had any sort of show nerves. Even the barn owners at Gen’s could tell I was a little off that morning when I went to go pick up my trailer.

When I got to the barn to give The Mare (TM) a bath her owner and the owners granddaughter (OGD) were already there doing the morning chores. The OGD is only 9, but she is totally horse crazy and since I was starting to have second thoughts about going to the show alone I was thrilled with TM’s Owner asked if OGD could come with me to the show.  She might only be 9, but horsey company is horsey company so I was not going to turn that offer down. I even told the girl to get her boots and helmet because they had a lead line class that she could enter if TM was being good.

So I bathed and did a running braid on my pretty mare and got her all gussied up for her first horse show. I think I did a good job because as I pulled her out of the barn to walk towards the trailer her owner kept saying over and over again how beautiful she was looking! That made me so happy! I was also proud of myself that I pulled off a running braid (go me) and it actually looked nice. TM marched on the trailer like the super star that she is! I was still felling a bit off center, but with the company of a horse crazy kid and a horse that marched right on the trailer I was starting to feel better.

It had rained a little the night before so as we cruised down the road with the windows down the earth had that fresh scent to it. I breathed it in and told myself to calm down. TM had been great when we trailed for the lesson. She would be FINE. No need to worry about anything. I pulled down the drive way with 25 minutes to go before our first class and for the very first time getting excited about the day. I went to go park in the field and noticed that not a lot of people where there already which put me in an odd spot.

You see, my truck doesn’t have four wheel drive. I tend to be very careful and park places that I know I can get out. The trailers were taking up about 3/4 of the way through one row. I couldn’t decide what to do. Should I try and go all the way out in the field and finish the row or should I make a new row. It really hadn’t rained that much so I figured I would try and be a big girl and park with everyone else.

And that ladies and gentleman is where things got embarrassing…

To Be Continued…

6 thoughts on “The “Three Word” horse show – Embarrassing – Part 1

  1. Gahh, I think you need to cut down on the whole breaking the story into parts thing; too much suspense! I also have my fingers crossed for you, despite the fact that I know it’s totally in vein (correct sp? vain?)

  2. Okay, I’m only saying this because I think you set yourself up for failure at this show, which means you should stop beating yourself up about it. Since you’re breaking this story up into pieces I can only comment on what you’ve written…HOW COULD YOU POSSIBLY LEAVE ONLY 25 MINUTES BEFORE YOUR CLASS WITH A HORSE WHO HAS NEVER BEEN TO A SHOW BEFORE!!!
    And look at the positives….She loaded right away. She wouldn’t do that before you started working with her.

  3. I’m going to have to agree with, oh my gosh I can’t believe you only left yourself 25 minutes before the show, haha. I would be a crazy wreck running around like a chicken with my head cut off ☺ Can’t wait to hear the next part!

  4. i do have to agree. even when my horse and i have been to the arena (western cattle work and gymkhana) i get there an hour early and always have him look at the cattle first. then a good warm up to get him focused on me. once he is calm, i sign up if i haven’t already, then i will go and let him rest until our first round.

Leave a Reply

