March 13, 2007

I almost forgot that on this date four years ago my life changed forever. On March 13th, 2007 Gen was playing outside in the field when he hurt himself. I did not know at the time what a life changing injury it would be (for both of us). The terribleness of it all did not show up until later.

I think that one of the reasons I forgot was because of how well he is doing. I mean, look at the pictures from earlier today. Is his leg fat? Yes. I mean, there is no denying that he is not a normal horse. Look at the pictures of him playing and being happy. I never, ever, thought that Gen would be able to run without boots on ever again. Look at him go now.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t worry about him getting hurt again. Look at how I reacted when he hurt his tendon sheeth last year…I thought that was it for him.

So far Gen has lived three years on borrowed time and I like to think that he makes the most of it. I don’t think that most people understand why I did all the things I did to save him, but I really love him and get so much enjoyment from being around him even without riding.

I think that it is a really good sign that I almost forgot this anniversary. Maybe time really does heal all wounds…

4 thoughts on “March 13, 2007

  1. It’s hard for me to imagine that Gen’s been ‘hurt’ longer than I’ve owned Ozzy. You two are lucky to have each other and I understand exactly why you’ve done all you have for him. I would do the same for Oz.

  2. I totally understand why you did all you could to help him. He’s your boy, and you’ll never stop worrying completely. I would do the same for any of my horses. Here’s to many happy years together! 🙂

  3. Those first three words are the best! “I almost forgot…” I remember how this day was such a big deal for such a long time, and it was all you could think about for weeks leading up to it was the anniversary of his injury. That’s just the best that he’s doing so well and you have moved on to the point that instead of defining both of you, it’s an “oh, by the way”. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

