“He doesn’t want you to get bored”

So Friday we got a really big rain storm complete with huge wind gusts and massive downpours. I knew that after what happened last weekend with the falling branches there was no way that Gen was getting turned out in that kind of weather. Luckily the Barn Owner played it safe and left Gen in because the weather (or the boogy man) cracked several fence posts in one corner leaving a large gap which is not very conducive to keeping a horse in a field! I got to the barn early Saturday morning knowing that Gen would be dying to get out. I saw the Barn Owners out in his field trying to repair the fence posts so I opened Gen’s door and put the stall guard up so he could look out and went over to see if I could lend a helping hand.

I kept an eye on Gen the whole time I was out there and even from far away it was clear he was jumping out of his skin wanting to be outside. He would stretch his neck out as far as possible over the stall guard, weave, swing his head, and just generally carry on like the most desperate horse you have ever seen. Once the fence was mended it was time to turn the horses out. I told Gen to hold on while I went to get my camera. I knew that it was going to be the kind of day to get some of those really good crazy horse pictures! I had the camera in my pocket and held up Gen’s halter, which he literally threw his head through in warp speed he was so anxious to get out.

As I walked next to him I could feel his power and desperation to run radiating off of him. Knowing that I wanted to get a good picture I tried to take my camera out of my pocket. As I did that Gen lept forward making me almost drop the camera and the lead. I quickly put the camera away figuring it was going to take every ounce of horse experience I had to get out of the field before Gen started to run, buck and play. I carefully turned Gen around and used the gate to shield me from what I was sure would be an amazing round of leaps. I unclipped his lead and scooted back and then…

NOTHING.

No, really. My horse did nothing. In fact, he stood there for a moment and decided that instead of taking off and rolling (which I had expected him to do and had not groomed him yet) he walked back over to the gate and put his head down so I could scratch it. He was so in to the itching I ended up going back in to the field to scratch him all over. When he was done with that he came over for a short cuddle and then wandered around looking to make sure there was indeed no grass to eat before settling in front of a pile of hay.

I had expected him to go nuts. Never in a million years would I have thought he would quietly go outside after being stuck in for a day. As I walked back to the gate, clearly looking utterly bewildered one of the Barn Owners called out to me, “He doesn’t want you to get bored with him so he is trying to be unpredictable”. I answered back that one of the reasons I got him was because he was so unpredictable. I would never have guessed his reaction outside. People often think I am crazy for still taking care of my retired horse like I do. I go see him almost everyday because he never ceases to entertain me! Gen loves to keep me on my toes…he knows that even being good can throw me for a loop!

3 thoughts on ““He doesn’t want you to get bored”

  1. I can’t believe he didn’t romp around even a little bit. Guess he’s keeping you on your toes, so you’ll never know what he’s going to do. And I don’t think it’s crazy at all to visit a retired horse everyday, he’s your guy. We have lots of retired horses that get interacted with everyday. Good for you.

  2. HaHa! I think you visiting your boy gives him such happiness. It gives him something to ‘work’ on, like a mental job which we know is so important for a TB.
    You are a great horse owner!

Leave a Reply

