Wordless Wednesday – Can you guess which one is Gen’s?

7 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Can you guess which one is Gen’s?

  1. You do know that you can be giving the horse too much of a good thing. Gen is not in work, if his feed is not giving him what he needs, I would look into changing feed.
    I could see a little extra Biotin for his hooves b/c you’ve had problems. And maybe the Cosequin b/c he’s older. But why the Vita-Key? And yogurt? Come on – that tiny amount isn’t doing anything anyway. Why both the Quiessence and Biotin – yes, they’re different but they’re both for hooves. I would be affraid of the extra Magnesium in the Quiessence. I have no clue what white “sep MayS “is. It looks like he’s getting more supplements than food.
    I can’t believe your barn owner doesn’t make you use SmartPak. Really, I think you are being unfair making your barn staff do this every day and I don’t think you are benefitting Gen. And I’m sure it tastes horrible!

  2. Of course, if I’m wrong and that is not Gen’s list, you should forward my post to whoever it is, and they should better research what they are giving their horse. I’ve seen first hand what too much of a good thing can do.

  3. I’m actually going to go with the short list on the far right. You’re an amazing and detailed horse owner so I can see why someone may guess the crazy long list – but you aren’t the type to put that many supplements into your horse either. Besides, Gen was struggling with his weight and that horse on the left is getting the least grain.

    Oh … and if FF stands for what I think it does (Farrier’s Formula?) – you had recommended it to me ages ago and said that you loved it.

    By the way, even if I’m completely wrong, this was a fun game! You don’t want to know how long I spent staring at that photo and re-reading the list to make my guess.

    I should do this with Ace too – except the list has 24 horses on it. Might be a little much. 😉

  4. Haha. I know the answer, but I won’t tell.

    tryingtoride — “sep MayS” is actually “scp Hay S” — a scoop of hay stretcher. 😉

    I will say that when I write out Willie’s list it tends to look like the first one, but I’ve seen how well most of them work firsthand. Then again, I’m the one doing the feeding, so it doesn’t matter to me if I have to scoop, measure, mix, shake, soak, etc, at each meal.

  5. I’m going to guess the middle one. I don’t know why I’m always amazed when I see people giving their horses lots of supplements. We have two hard-working endurance horses that are on mostly grass hay and alfalfa with a beetpulp and rice bran mash in the evening. Our third horse is a hard-keeper so he gets fed more than the others. We also do monthly IV Adequan.

Leave a Reply

