Just a quick catch up for new readers!

So every once in a while I like to do a post like this so that people can get a clearer idea of all the stuff I talk about. I do this when I can clearly see that people are confused with what on earth is going on in my horsey world from their comments! I am new to a lot of blogs as of late and often I have no idea what the person was talking about because there is a long back story that I do not know. Since my blog is several years old there is a lot of horse history in it and I know that I am confusing some of my newer readers when I talk about past stuff. I hope this clarifies stuff for everyone and feel free to ask any questions you have in the comments sections…for once I promise I will actually respond to the comments (I read all of them…and they always make me think and I love them but for someone reason I just can’t seem to get my act together enough to respond to them).

First let me talk about my Gen…

Gen is my 19 year old Off Track Thoroughbred that I have had since 2005. I love him very much! He suffered a bad tendon injury in March of 2007 and has been retired since, although I did try to pull him out of retirement in the summer of 2010. Gen has always been a hot a horse, which is why he was given to me, and I worried way too much about him getting hurt again or killing me so I decided that he could stay retired. He is boarded about 20 minutes from where I live at a small barn (only 6 stalls) that I refer to as Hill Farm. Gen is my first horse and he is the gray one.

The SchoolMaster is an early teen Chestnut Hanoverian. He is branded so I am sure that at some point I will be able to figure out his real age and his full name. I started riding him one day a week for a lesson in June of 2010. He is trained through the upper levels and I am pretty sure that he has shown through at least fourth level pretty successfully. He is currently half leased to a student of my trainers trainer and is used occasionally in lessons by both my trainer and my trainers trainer. I plan to start “quarter leasing” him again in the spring so that I can ride in between my lessons. He is at my trainers barn which is beautiful and has a nice big indoor. There are about 30 horses there and they have two full time people looking after the horse. It is an hour away from where I live and filled with very impressive riders so I can feel a bit intimidated there sometimes.

That is Phoenix. He was first a four and then a 5 year old Appy cross. I rode him from January of 2009-May of 2010. He was a rescue from the Last Chance Corral Nursemare Foal season in 2005 and was very green when I started riding him. I went from working on steering to turning him in to a show horse in the time I had with him. By the end we were doing training level at USDF dressage shows and he could self load on the trainer and we were even working on being able to be trailer tied. He was the first Appy I have ever ridden and he was also the first horse I trained from the ground up. I am still proud of myself for giving him such a good foundation.

Now the horse above I leased from January to December of 2008. He is the reason I am still riding today. That was X. And he was perfect. He passed away in December of 2008. When Gen was hurt I thought I would never ride again. X was a 21 year old been there done that former hunter who was rehabbing from a broken hip during the year I rode him. He gave me so much hope that I still mention him on my blog a lot so I wanted people to know who he is. You can search my blog for stuff about the Sainted Paint and you can read all about how amazing he was.

There are of course many horses in life and plenty of them that I fell in love with before I started this blog, but I just thought it might be a good idea to clear up any confusion about the four equine main characters of this blog.

Ask away anything else you want to know I will answer!

4 thoughts on “Just a quick catch up for new readers!

  1. Thanks for doing this post. I had a pretty good idea of what was going on, but it’s nice to put faces to names and stories. I should do a catch up post since I’ve been blogging for years, but have only had my current blog for a few months.

  2. Wow, I can’t believe it’s been 2 whole years since we lost Lexi and Classic. Can you believe we’ve been friends that long? It’s gone so fast!

    And PS – Let new readers know X is also Lexi, since you started calling him by his real name after we had to let him go.

  3. Thanks for the update! I am a newbie to your blog and I couldn’t figure out who “X” was! It’s nice to have photos to put with the names. 🙂

Leave a Reply

