2011 Snow Pictures!

Every year I take pictures of Gen playing in the show. This year though I tried to keep the playing to a minimum because I was worried about the footing and Gen’s Feet.

As you can see below, my horse who is barefoot is getting snowballs in his feet. You can also see that his feet are looking terrible in the winter weather. His wall is starting to separate from the foot and it is scaring the crap out of me! I am told that the snow packing in a small space is what is making it grow. Not good, especially since my pony LOVES the snow and is out in it for many hours a day. At least my Farrier will be out Saturday to try and help.

I was always told that a barefoot horse was fine in the snow. I never knew that they could get snow balls. I know I am a worry wart, but look at the gap between his foot and the floor. It is so scary to watch him walk in the barn…he is basically ice skating.

Clearly Gen is not bothered by the fact that he can hardly walk. Look at him galloping along in the field…

And here he is doing a “flyby” as I am yelling at him NOT to run. He wasn’t getting it. He knows that every year after it snows when I get my camera out it is time to show off. He wasn’t getting that it was like an ice rink this year! He really is awfully cute though isn’t he?

And this is supposed to be my normal “snow shot” but my horse is so freaking dirty that I hate it and I refuse to use it as my shot for this year. It must get above 50 at some point soon so I can give him a bath! This makes me want to put a blanket on him…to bad it is too late 😦 Did I ever mention I wanted a black horse?

8 thoughts on “2011 Snow Pictures!

  1. I have only ridden in the snow once. My horse has shoes and he got snowballs, too. A gal in Nebraska has her horse’s shoes pulled and HE gets snowballs. She uses non-stick cooking spray or shortening in the hooves to keep the snow from sticking, but I can tell you, snow is going to stick. Period.

    Can’t speak to separation of hoof wall, however, since my horse is always shod. We just rode very slowly (while he got taller and taller ;o)

    Good pictures ;o)

  2. Laz is barefoot and he occasionally gets snowballs too but then he walks and they pop out after they ball up. It makes me worry too. I use PAM spray and it helps a little, although just totally temporary. I’ve heard of people using Musher’s secret but I’ve never done it and won’t.
    At least it looks like your cement is grated so there’s traction..ours is slick so I dont ever bring him in if I dont have to. Once I did and he splawed out like Bambi. Not cool.
    Gen is so adorable and happy 🙂
    Curry him and vacuum wont clean him off? I’m used to a Bay but just so you know…I can see Laz’s dirt/grime too, he’s lighter than his fur. There’s no winning!

  3. It’s less about the lack of shoes and more about the balance of the foot. The angle of his toe may have something to do with his tendency to develop snowballs.

  4. Here you go. A clean Gen. 😀 I’ll send the photo to you if you’d like, or yank it down. I hope you don’t mind me playing with your photo, I just loved this one a lot and wanted to see if I could clean Gen up for you. If you like it I can make changes to it if necessary.

    Clean Gen Photo

  5. He’s collecting snowballs because his feet are too long: his walls are too long and his toe is WAY too long. Traditional farriery uses a “pasture trim” for barefoot horses, which is really just trimming the hoof for a shoe and then not sticking a shoe on it. You need long walls to have enough hoof to nail into but if you’re not putting shoes on it’s actually detrimental to the function of hooves.

    If you can get your farrier to rasp his walls down to the sole level you might not have that problem, though your farrier will probably object to that and give you a song and dance about how horses need to have hoof wall to stand on.

    Anyway, unsolicited advice aside, I really like that pic with him cantering away from you.

Leave a Reply

