It is my 3rd blogaversary!

This was the very first picture of Gen on the blog.

 

So three years ago today I started this blog. I think it is pretty crazy that this blog has been around for three years. I know very few blogs that have been around for that long, especially those like mine who are just for fun. I want to take this time to thank all of my long time readers, and welcome those who are new. A lot has happened in the past three years!

I went from a graduate student working in a barn with a very badly hurt horse to a young professional with a certified pasture pet who is living life without any indications of what a special boy he is.

During the past three years I have leased three separate horses. I have also shown with varying degrees of success. With X I got to ride in my very first victory gallop, with Phoenix I won a year end award in the baby green hunter division and placed at the big memorial day show which was a CDI. I have even tried my hand at showing In Hand.

I have grown a lot as a rider. I can now say that I can train a horse. I can also say that I can half pass and do my 6 Tempis.

My blogging has totally changed. When I first started and I had time I would do thousand word rambling diary posts every day. Now I try and post at least 5 days a week, but with a significantly smaller word count. When I first started my blog I had posts lined up and ready to go, now if I don’t have time for 5 days I just don’t have any new posts for a while.

My blog is more popular than it ever was, but it is still not popular at all. I actually think I like it better this way. Not a whole lot of people read my blog, but those of you that do really care about Gen and I. I remember the first time that someone in my “Real Life” found this blog without me telling them…it was a very bizarre conversation to hear that someone had googled a subject and that my blog came up.

Who knows what the next three years will hold. In three years Gen will be 22 years old! I bet he will also be totally white by that time. Hopefully in three years I will be a better rider. And hopefully I will have shown higher than training level! Who knows if I will even be showing dressage in three years. I might not even have a blog. There was a while this fall where I thought about ending it. Then I remembered how amazing it is to have such a connection to so many people and I realized that I couldn’t give that up. Gen loves that he has fans! I don’t know what the future holds, all I know is that I will keep writing about my adventures and hopefully some of you will keep reading. If you would have told me three years ago that Gen would be doing so well I wouldn’t have beleaved you. He is doing better than I ever dreamed he could be. Being able to look back at those early posts reminds me of how far we have come.

18 thoughts on “It is my 3rd blogaversary!

  1. Everyone who has “a life” has time constraints, money issues, and if they also own horses, they have the, uh, “unexpected events” that come with large four-leggeds that can get themselves into a LOT of trouble despite our best efforts to keep them safe.

    In other words, we ALL identify with your blog posts. We understand rambling, we understand short and sweet (your last post, for example. That picture said a thousand words ;o) and we understand lapses between posts.

    We relate.

    Congratulations on three years! You’ll know in your heart if the blog will continue. I follow your posts by e-mail and look forward to every entry. Gen has a red-headed “cousin” with four whites and a star, strip and snip who is a fan. Hoofs up!

  2. Happy Blogaversary! I totally didn’t realize I just missed my own…

    One thing I do love about blogging is seeing how far we’ve come from those very first posts… I remember the very first time you commented, and then starting to read Gen’s journey and realizing what a small world it was!

    I love reading about your spoiled old man and do hope you keep blogging even if it’s only occasionally. 🙂

  3. Happy Blogaversary! I can’t say how glad I am that you are still blogging, and that because of our blogs we have had the opportunity to become such great friends. My blog is only about two months older than yours, and we are two of an incredibly small handful of bloggers who started then who are still going. I hope you never stop blogging, but even if you do I’m glad to know that we will always be friends! And someday maybe even face-to-face. 🙂

  4. As I said last time I saw you, I love reading your blog and hope that you continue to write. As long as you do, I am sure we will all keep reading. Happy blogaversary!

  5. Congratulations! I’m a relatively new reader and I really enjoy and look forward to your blog. Your comments and reviews of various horse products have helped me a lot. I found your blog through researching dressage saddles. After continued research I purchased a second hand Schleese saddle. The Schleese saddle and the professional fitting made a huge difference in my horse’s comfort level and movement. Your comments provided me with information that helped me make my decision. I’m hoping to buy a bridle from the same company in the future.
    I wish you and Gen the best and hope you continue to write. Happy anniversary!

  6. Congratulations on your blog-o-versary! I also enjoy reading about your trials, tribulations & successes in the horse world. I’ve learned a lot from you- has it really been three years???!!!!
    Best wishes to you and Gen!

  7. Wow – Congratulations! It’s amazing how much changes in 3 years. People come and go; horses come and go; jobs change; things happen. But the good feelings our horses bring us when we see them in their pasture or smell their hay-scented breath stays the same.
    Keep up the good blogging.

  8. I love reading your blog! And congrats on three years! Wow! It is nice to have horsey “blog” friends around the country, especially to cheer on and support one another! 🙂

  9. Happy Blogaversary!!! I have totally enjoyed the past few years of following your journey with X and then Phoenix, and of course sweet Gen! Glad you are still around, sharing your horsey news! I find it really interesting reading!! Congratulations on 3 years!!

Leave a Reply

