If I am happy with bootlessness, Gen is thrilled

Look at that peaceful pony. Two days in to his new bootless life Gen is being fantastic. He has been MUCH more careful then normal. Yes, he is still rolling, and yes, I have seen him canter a bit, but for the most part he has been really good. Normally when I get to the barn my boy runs over to see me. The past two days he has only walked. I swear Gen understands English because EVERYONE told him to be careful and he really has been.

The real test will come this week when it rains. My mud loving pony has a hard time behaving when it is wet out. As time goes on his tendon will begin to stretch out more and more, making it better able to cope with normal living. After almost 4 years with boots on it is just not flexible at all. I am starting to think that maybe walking around without boots is actually the best thing for Gen. His tendon was still nice and tight and cool yesterday evening when I went to go see him. I am loving this! I hope it keeps going well!

One thought on “If I am happy with bootlessness, Gen is thrilled

Leave a Reply

