Courtney King-Dye Update June

Sounds like things are going well! I am reposting Lendon’s facebook update below and Courtney’s own update below that. I really hope she becomes an out patient soon! As for Hippotherapy…there is a wonderful facility not far from the Kessler facility she is at called “Rocking Horse Rehab” that has  a great staff, volunteers, and wonderfully trained horses and ponies. I hope she does decided to do it for no other reason then to change up her therapy routine! For those of you not familiar, Hippotherapy is not about riding at all. It is using the horse like a piece of therapy equipment. Should I do a whole post on this at some point or do most of you know about Hippotherapy already?

****

Lendon Gray A quick Courtney update — slow steady improvement in speech, walking, stair climbing (with a railing to hold onto, she goes up and down a set of 4 steps by herself 3 times in a row), etc. Lefty is getting more dextrous and Righty can now (with effort) be lifted almost straight up in the air (Righty is the hand/arm that didn’t move at all for a long time). With luck she will become an outpatient at Kessler by July.

****

Found on her website

Sunday June 13, 2010

Hello all! I am doing well. I am almost 1\2 way through the emails (thanks DP for putting them together), and I can’t tell you how much they help me. Just knowing how many love and support me is huge!

I still don’t have proper use of my right side and speech is difficult, but I guarantee I am working hard on them! I am amazed how much the brain does. But I feel very lucky being like my normal self and having my memory; I see a lot who don’t have that luxury. I explain that my brain may be terribly screwed up, but my mind is good! I kick butt on anything mental they throw at me, so what if I can’t walk; I can think!At first I didn’t think I would ride again partly because my neurologist said if I hurt my head again, it will not be 2 times as hard to come back but 5 times; and I can tell you, it’s not easy now! But the fact is (even though I have a good education) I can’t see myself doing anything else. I have been asked a lot if hippotherapy sounded good, and at first I thought “those horse are so far below my abilities!” But in reality, horses always make me feel better, so until my balance is better why not do it on horses who are used to it? I heard that Lendon visited me while I was in the coma with a rein, and it made a huge difference! Jason says he was not too impressed with it because he was still trying to get me to communicate, and here is Lendon reminding me how to ride! But it worked; it’s what my body knows. So thanks to Lendon for being such a big part of what’s going on!Ok, that’s all for now. Lots of love,

ckd

5 thoughts on “Courtney King-Dye Update June

  1. Its amazing how this therapy works i have seen were a child who couldnt speak said her horses name. I no first hand how it will help. I think that it will help her id she does this therapy

  2. Hello Courtney, my trainer/instructor has been updating me about your progress. I was just released from the hospital myself last month due to a head injury, horse related. I’ve saved my helmet just to keep my inline!
    This was my second head injury and I hope my last. I’m changing the way I go about working with my horse “The Budmeister”, it was not his error but totally mine, I refused to listen to his behavior (riding at dusk) and then it happened and I can’t remember a thing. They say thats good and I shouldn’t try. But I’d like to know what happened to those days in my life. But thank God I’m alive and well and recovered, and riding again, my Doctor thinks I’m alittle crazy but aren’t all of us that truly love our horses! I want to encourage you Courtney I have followed your riding since I started riding myself which was very late in life (mid 50’s) but I’m hooked. I’ll be praying for you Courtney, if you want to ride again you will !
    Dee Dee Benson Az.ps: all of us here are thinking of you!

  3. Ms. Dye,
    Believe it or not those hippo horses are going to educate you on humility, which you obviously don’t have. Be thankful you can be rehabilitated. I too am a closed head injury survivor, resulting from a 7.5 stroke that happened at the age of 48. It took me 2 full years to recover to the new normal. Luckily I can still ride. You’ll ride again that is for sure. You’ll just need to adjust to the new normal.

    Best of luck with your new endeavors to the new normal. Do what every your physical therapy people tell you it’ll make riding easier. Muscles have memory, once you get back on it’s gonna all come back even on a hippo horse. Heck you’ll have one of those therapy horses piaffing in no time.

    Diane Berry

Leave a Reply

