Confident and Ready To Go

So I am exhausted right now. It has been a tough week. When my alarm went off this morning I had to fight to get out of bed. That being said just typing this post is giving me energy. My last show with Phoenix is this weekend. I have been DYING to go to this show FOREVER (obviously exaggerating). It is finally my turn to show at this show instead of volunteer. I am so excited! Even with setting my alarm for an ungodly hour on Sunday I am still looking forward to a good weekend. I have not seen Phoenix since Tuesday so I am looking forward to spending some quality time with him.

I am not really nervous for this show at all. I think a big part of that lack of nerves is the fact that I am not worried about my scores. It is not like I am going to be able to get year ends or anything. I do still need one training 4 score for my bronze medal, but I decided long ago not to put pressure on myself to get it at this show. I will get it at some point in the future and that has to be good enough for me for right now. After showing every weekend for many, many weekends at this point my confidence in Phoenix is high. He looks to me for reassurance, and he trust me so much that as long as I can give it to him, he is okay.

At the show last weekend a GIANT rainbow colored umbrella flew out of its holder right behind Phoenix. He, of course, spooked and lept forward…straight into my arms. He put his nose on my chest and looked at the scary thing. I told him it was okay and I meant it and he dropped his head into my arms for a hug. It was like he wanted me to hold him until the scary thing went away because nothing bad could happen in my arms. Phoenix has learned to trust me. And that is a huge deal for a younger horse.

For all intensive purposes I should be scared about being at a show that is a CDI. One that has a single warm up ring for 5 rings. But I am not. We are just going to do our best and enjoy ourselves. My trainer is coming out to warm me up, and I love it because she keeps me relaxed and focused before I go in the ring. One of my classes I am guaranteed to pin in because there are less than 6 people in it. It is going to be a long one, but this is going to be a good weekend. I can feel it already.

I already have my truck packed so I am just going to ride, bath and braid Phoenix after work. I am going to try and leave the braids in for both days. Since Sunday is so early I am going to leave my trailer hooked up so I have one less stop to make Sunday morning.

I will try to be good and post results on my facebook fan page for the blog each night.

I am going to try and not worry about all the sadness I feel leaving. Instead I want to focus on enjoying the show. I love to show. I really do. And Phoenix is now starting to love to show as a result. I just want to break a 60% in all my tests. That really is my only goal for this weekend.

Wish me luck!

11 thoughts on “Confident and Ready To Go

  1. Best of luck to you this weekend! It would be nice to go out with a BLUE but don’t pressure yourself and just have fun.

    We’re out of here in a few minutes for a show too – if the 12 year old takes forever to shower princess ever gets her butt ready! Let’s come home with some great show reports even if it’s just, “we laughed so hard we peed our pants!!”.

    Have fun!

  2. Good luck! Love the jumping into your arms story. I’m picturing something like when Scooby-Doo jumps up into Shaggy’s arms even though he’s twice his size. So cute!

  3. Sounds like you have a good day comming!

    When something scary like that happens, Janow is more likely to get between it an me, prepared to kick the you-know-what out of it. He destroyed a tack room door that way.

    He was bred to be a war horse and keep his officer safe during battles.

Leave a Reply

