Gen’s New Halter

My horse is such a goofball! Check out Gen’s new halter! Because of his halter rubs, Gen needed a new halter. I knew that I would get him a nice all leather halter with padding because he had an old halter like that and it never gave us any trouble with rubs. Gen goes out with his halter on. Every barn is different about that. I would personally rather have him go out without it, but my little Houdini has shown us all that it is necessary for him to have some identifier on him such as a halter with a tag on it. Oh Gennyral 😛

So I tried to take a picture of Gen modeling his cute new halter combo and fuzzy. I always feel like having a matching halter and lead rope is so decadent, which is why I love it! I mean, not every horse has a matching halter and lead. Does your horse? I wanted to show off my handsome man, but getting a picture of Gen in his new digs was tough. He would not stand still for a moment! (notice the lead rope is blurry in the picture below because he just wouldn’t stop)

I want to give a big THANK YOU to SolitaireMare for the fuzzy. That grey fuzzy was once worn by her precious horse Monty and I was hoping it would have some of Monty’s good sense still left in it.

Clearly Gen was ignoring any of the good Monty vibes. Instead he seemed to be channeling cookie monster 😛

I ended up just cracking and taking a picture of it hanging on his stall because that was the only way I was going to be able to show you how cute the combo is. The lead rope is black with gold yarn and the halter is black with brown leather padding and brass hardware. I hope Gen enjoys his new posh look because a matching halter/lead rope set is a luxury that I am probably not going to be able to afford for a while.

5 thoughts on “Gen’s New Halter

  1. He looks so handsome in his new halter set! Seeing the gray fuzzy on a gray horse nose again kind of made me teary-eyed in a good way. Cookie Monster! Ha! Monty was a cookie monster in his day, too! I think the connection has been made! 😉 Enjoy your new outfit, Gen! You are a lucky and loved pony!

  2. Very nice! I like it — that’s a very handsome horse you have there. 🙂 He looks great in the leather halter!

    Rev’s halter is blue, and her lead is blue, gray, and light blue, so yes, mine match! They’re not as nice as Gen’s new ones, though. 😉

  3. My daughter is a freak about using a matching lead. Stanley’s new pasture halter is green but we don’t have a green lead. When we go out to the pasture to get him she brings one of the BO’s green leads instead of one of ours. Then she puts him in his lime green halter because we have a lead that matches….

    Gen looks quite handsome in his even if he wouldn’t hold still.

  4. Very handsome boy! I do like to try and matchy match everything if possible. It’s the designer in me. Gen looks beautiful, he’s got such a gorgeous neck/face! He is a lucky boy.

  5. I had to laugh at this – there’s something about having a matching lead/halter, isn’t there? I wish I could even dream about this. My guy has a habit of playing with halters in the field, though (our barn hangs them next to the gate), so I always end up with the crappy (pardon my French), half-broken halters no one minds getting dragged through the mud. Gotta say I wish I could have that much fun just twirling a piece of nylon in the air!

Leave a Reply

