But…Miracles are Supposed to Happen to Everyone!

I have been reading the blog “Sweet Horses Breath” for a while now. It is about a young woman, Kristen, and her horse, Lazarus, who is suffering with a very bad case of Laminitis. She started the blog to chronical the journey of her first horse Lazarus, who is an off the track thoroughbred. It was in October when he coliced that the Laminitis showed up and has been here to stay. I started reading her blog in the winter and it touched me in a way that few blogs can. Why? Because Kristen is an eloquent writer who can articulate what the owner of a very bad off horse is going through. So many times reading her blog I have been brought to tears because I am brought right back to a moment in time when I was fighting tooth and nail for Gen to live. I selfishly assumed that because Gen and I had similar emotional struggles to them that the outcome would at least be the same if not better. This 20 something woman and I had such similar stories that I just knew she and Laz would be able to make am amazing comeback. That is why it came as such a shock this morning when I read her post…and Laz is not going to get better. He will not even be comfortable enough to be a pasture pet like my Gen is. As hard as she fought to save him, Laz’s body is not going to heal itself. He is not going to get any better.  She has a few weeks left to say her good byes and enjoy what little time she has left with her very sweet OTTB. It has hit me hard because it is not fair. She is a loving and wonderful horse owner and Laz is a goofy and sweetheart of a horse. Why must he be taken when there are so many unloved horses and bad horse owners out there? How did I get so lucky that my Gen survived his tendon injury? I wish that there was something I could do or say to help her through this horrible time. That is why I am writing this post. I know that when X died you all said wonderful things that really made me feel better. If there is anyway you could go over to Kristen’s blog and share your love, insight, and support for her as she and Laz end their journey together I know she would appreciate it. My heart is just breaking for her right now.

4 thoughts on “But…Miracles are Supposed to Happen to Everyone!

  1. It sounds like a horrible cliche, and it is really, but all I can say now is “All things happen for a reason”. We don’t always know the reasons, and maybe we are not meant to know all the time.

    Kristen and Laz share an amazing story. She has done her utmost best to provide every possible thing she could for her horse. She has gone above and beyond what many owners can, or will.

    Can laminitis be fixed? Yes. Many, many cases of it can, and are, every single day. Dr. Ric Redden and Dr. Andrea Floyd have worked together to create prosthetic limbs for horses who have suffered severe traumatic injury, laminitic catastrophes, etc. But not every horse is a candidate, and not every owner can afford to take these steps.

    You pointed out there are a huge number of horses out there today that need someone like Kristen. Maybe… just maybe… when she is ready another horse will find her, and she can continue to provide a grand life, as she has with Laz. I applaud her decision, even though it is probably one of the hardest she has had to make in her life. Time will tell.

    My heart goes out to Kristen, and to Laz. May they have amazing time together for his remaining days.

  2. I’ve been following Laz’s blog but haven’t gotten to it yet today, so I guess I got an early heads up….I too kinda assumed everything was going to be OK. Everything was going so well and signs were pointing towards recovery so I’m really suprised. Going over right now to read the update and comment.

  3. I am one of the unlucky ones who knows that not everyone gets a happy ending. I lost my childhood pony to an intestinal blockage and 4 months later, my 18-year-old OTTB to lymphosarcoma (only about 1% of horses get cancer – go figure!) My heart goes out to Kristen.

  4. Thank you for your amazing sweet words of support…and for your personal comment on my blog. I am totally following your suggestions of doing everything I can to keep his memories alive, forever. In this mentally muddleness, it was so great to read your suggestions that totally clicked a big “YES!” The photographs, the vase, etc etc..thank you.
    Thank you for your kind words above too. I feel like so many of us out there really understand the love, and getting so much support from once strangers, now friends, that have gone thru something similar or just to offer support/thoughts is SO helpful and peaceful in this awful time..I feel lucky to even have these last days with him.
    xo Kristen

Leave a Reply

