I am such a newbie to this breed stuff…

It has not even been a month and I already hate Phoenix’s show name. Day after day I keep hoping that it will grow on me, but it just hasn’t. If anything, I like the name a lot less than I did when I spur of the moment put it down on the breed association papers. It makes me feel better though that even in the following weeks I still cannot come up with anything better. As one of my good friends said, “His show name is Last Chance Corral’s Phoenix, you can’t change it so you better learn to love it”. I am trying, but it is hard. This is also the first time in my life I have to do paperwork for a breed pony (Gen obviously came with his tattoo and Jockey Club registration) so it is very strange to me think that I could not even change Phoenix’s name now if I wanted too…he is already registered after all. I will learn to love it…right?

And now onto a question that I am really hoping someone out there can answer. I need to register Phoenix with USEF and USDF now. No big deal right? Except that in the breed registry they have his birthday as 12/31/2004 because I have no proof that his birthday is at the end of March. So when I register Phoenix do I use what I think is his real birthday or do I go with his official breed registry birthday? I am thinking breed registry, but any input would be good.

Okay and now for my last breed association issue for the day. Should I be expecting something official from them paper wise? I was kind of hoping for a certificate or something saying that I have my uber fancy Appaloosa Sport Horse 😛 So far all I have gotten is an e-mail and password with my registration and a link on the website labeled “my horses” with Phoenix’s info. Do things not get done by paper anymore? Am I going to have to make my own certificate to make myself feel special that I have a fancy breed pony now?

So I know I am total dork and newbie to this breed stuff, but can I just tell you all that I am super excited about it? I am still amazed that I am even trying to qualify for a USDF All-Breeds Award. My baby horse and I have some big dreams for this year! Now I just need to get my saddle back :P. And have the snow in the ring melt :P. And my pony to behave when I ride him :P.

8 thoughts on “I am such a newbie to this breed stuff…

  1. I still like using “LCC Pheonix” when you show him. About his birthday, I would call USDF and USEF to see what they say before filling out the paperwork.
    This is all small stuff. It’s going to be a good showing year!

  2. Are you sure they won’t let you change it? It might cost money but most breeds do let you so long as you fork over cash….

    APHA we get certificates with a photo and all…not so sure about anything else but can you email to ask them? I know APHA is super nice about answering questions or even providing duplicates of paperwork. My daughter lost one of her ROM certificates and they sent a new one asap when I called.

    I agree with Speedysmom about calling USDF and USEF for the birthdate stuff – I’m guessing they’d prefer everything to match up.

  3. I remember back in my hunter days a trainer telling me that a certain organization (can’t remember if we were talking TB’s, QH’s or what-I had an Appendix QH) uses a default birthdate of January 1, and the birth year.

    Tass

  4. maybe you should have thought longer about his show name! lol
    I like LCC pheonix
    and use his breed birthday. that makes sure there is no confusion between registries

  5. and TBs have a default bday of jan 1st if they are registered with the Jockey Club, but if they are no longer racing you can use their real bday or the jan 1st one. they use the jan 1st bday to make sure all horses are racing in their age group so there is no advantage over other horses. I think its very ineffective though because if you have a foal born on dec 31, 2009 he is officially one year old on jan 1st with the registry which puts him at a disadvantage in racing-very counterproductive indeed. ut a good breeder will try to make sure their foals are born at the right time if year so things like that dont happen.

  6. I recently got POA Hardship papers for my mare and they did send me a certificate so I would think you should get something. Give them a call, couldn’t hurt. Good luck.

  7. LOL – so obviously other people’s problems are so much worse than mine! snow melting in the arena! OMG, and here I am complaining about a small rain shower which has put me out of comission for a whole…..week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

