My saddle is ready to come back to the USA!

I am SOOOOO excited right now. I got a call last night that my saddle is officially all redone and ready to come back home! They just wanted double check the shipping address before they sent my saddle off. Something I am grateful for because I would not be a happy camper if my saddle got sent to the wrong place. I cannot WAIT to get it state side and back onto the back of my fat spotted pony. I am really hoping that all this crazy work has done the trick and that I don’t have any more saddle issues for a LONG time! Not that getting my saddle back is crucial right now because both rings are hidden under 2 feet of packed ice and snow, but to at least have it so I could, in theory anyway, ride if I wanted to. Oh I am so excited!

On to a different question…Why do most barns have such long driveways? There has to be a reason. I am asking this question because this past week I have been to several different barns, and every single one of them has a driveway that I never think I am going to make it up of! I have only been stuck once (I don’t have snow tires or 4 wheel drive or anything else good in the snow because normally I never need it), but still, why should I be stuck at all? Why must barns be so far away? On a few occasions I have decided not even to risk the trip up and just park on the road but even the hike to the barns seems so far. At first I thought it was because most barns do not want horses near the road, but the more I thought about it the less sense that idea made because often the pastures are often in between the barn and the roads. Is there a logical reason why barns are often placed at the end of very long driveways?

3 thoughts on “My saddle is ready to come back to the USA!

  1. I’d say it is indeed a safety thing for a few reasons. When you open a pasture gate and get plowed over by a few horses and they all manage to escape, generally they head towards the barn if that’s where they are fed but if they don’t…well that long driveway can confuse them into staying close.

    Having a long drive all discourages people who don’t belong there for venturing onto the property. This is a safety thing for people who keep a lot of expensive tack in their barn.

    Being back from roads also isn’t as dusty for the horses but also quieter. I don’t think I’d feel the same kind of peace in a quiet barn if a truck went roaring past ever few minutes.

    Congrats on the saddle! You’ll have to post pictures of Phoenix wearing it when you get it back even if you can’t ride.

  2. Oh, yes, driveways- I remember mine in MD was long enough for me to have enough time to scribble the tag number of anyone who came or went. It also discouraged people who were always “just looking” to see if they wanted to board there. When I worked on a farm that had a short driveway, the “general public” was there almost daily & I had to constantly explain to people that they were not allowed in the paddocks, barns, etc. unless they actually kept a horse there. It always amazed me that the same mother who would not let her child pet a friendly dog but was ok with the same child running after a strange horse in a paddock. Some people, Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

