My New Schleese Bridle…

Look at my little dressage pony! Doesn’t he look precious (and slightly tortured at the same time :P)! I think so. With everything going on with the saddle I still wanted to keep my bridle because, yes, it really is that nice. Notice how it fits Phoenix like a dream?

So I know you all have been asking for pictures of my splurge purchase so here they are…Pictures of my beautiful new Schleese Bridle! Take a look at those reins. They look normal right? Well they are not. They are made of a very cool (and very soft) material which gets sticky when they get wet instead of slippery! If I ever have to show in pouring rain these reins are going to give me a huge edge.

One of the things I love so much about it is the crown piece. Most bridles have the crown piece and a separate piece for the nose band lying underneath the crown piece. If the bridle is too tight that can cause extra pressure on the poll for your pony. For comfort on the Schleese bridle there is just a single padded piece over the poll. They are also slight cut outs for the ears for maximum horse comfort. It is a little tough to see in the picture above, but it is obvious in the top photo of Phoenix.

The thing that I am having the hardest time getting used to is the fancy noseband. My poor self is used to just pulling and attaching. This fancy one is designed so the instead of having a buckle dig into the horses chin you have a larger area of pressure and padding. As you can see the whole bridle was designed for total horse comfort. The pad for under the chin is attached in this really cool way with keepers that are totally attached. I cannot tell you the number of times I have been nice and put someone elses fancy bridle away only to stop half way to the tack room crawling on the ground looking for a keeper. I wont have that issue with my new bridle though. I am so excited! The thing I love most about this bridle is the attention to detail. There are tons of high quality leather bridles out there, I know because I have been shopping for one since last summer! The reason I bought this one (besides the obvious that Jochen Schleese called me a good rider and therefore could have sold me a bucket of dirt in the middle of the ring) is because of the care that was put into creating it. It was literally designed with the horse in mind. And the padding…well…it just feels like heaven!

So Phoenix would like to know what you all think. Does he look good in his fancy new headgear? I know this is totally breedist of me, but even with the fancy gear I still think my Appy looks odd in dressage gear! Odd but cute of course. Very cute.

13 thoughts on “My New Schleese Bridle…

  1. Aren’t you going to ask us what’s different between the first and second picture of Phoenix wearing that bridle? I was going to say something about the first picture until I got to the second one. Mostly because it’s a pet peeve of mine!!

    It’s a gorgeous bridle! And I just realized he has an amazing forelock for an Appy. I’ve been told our boy’s lack of forelock makes him look more Appy than Paint – he has a puff ball.

  2. I think he looks very handsome in his new bridle. He has enough black in his mane to make the bridle stand out…

    Like Michelle said – you ARE lucky that he has a forelock! My guy has the poof ball fraggle forelock that I can’t do anything with… 🙂

  3. Oh Yeah Baby! He is looking FINE in that new gear!!

    What a cutie he is OTB. Please smooch him from me! (And Genny too! Cant have that handsome man get jealous ya know..lol)

  4. Very pretty bridle! I’m at mt aunts so can do pics this weekend. That’s cool about the reins too. Are the made of leather or a synthetic material.

  5. I love it!!!
    You can tell Phoenix that he looks absolutely fabulous in his new bridle 😀

    I’ve been thinking about saving up some $ to buy a nice (dressage) bridle for Griffin.

    I’ve always been a biothane freak since it’s so easy to clean, but there are times I think that it would be nice to get a nice leather one that FITS well — more contoured to the horse’s face.

    I’ve noticed that there are a lot of companies (especially dressage related) out there that are starting to make bridles more with fit and comfort of the horse in mind.

    I want that for my boy — who wouldn’t?

    At any rate, I love your bridle. I want one like that 🙂

  6. I love the new bridle! I’ve been wanting a new one for a while too — now I need to look into Schleese bridles! 🙂 And I don’t think Appys look funny in dressage gear at all, especially when they move as well as Phoenix does. Then again, maybe that’s reverse-breedist of me, since I looooove Appys!

    (Incidentally, you’ve inspired me to start my own blog — http://reveilleandrinsie.blogspot.com. You’re an Official Inspiration!)

  7. Hi! I absolutely love reading your blog! I was wondering if it would be OK for me to put a link to it on the links section on my blog (theroanypony.wordpress.com)? Thanks! 🙂

  8. Hands in the air, this is a hold up. I’m taking your bridle. Love it, love it, love it. That was a nice purchase, no matter what the cost. Good job.

  9. He looks very comfy and dapper in that GORG bridle! I’m super jealous! Love how is contoured for his ears and looks so nicely padded, wow! A bridle to enjoy for years!

Leave a Reply

