My 2nd Blogaversary!

My blog is now over 2 years old! How crazy is that?!?!? It might not seem that crazy to you, but it is pretty crazy to me. I have had blogs before, 3 of them to be exact starting in 2001. Those blogs were very…bloggy though. With other blogs in my past I knew that this time I had to pick a subject and stick to it. Seeing everyone else post their blog anniversary dates made me decide to look back and see mine. I started this blog on December 7, 2007. This blog was started as a way to stay in touch with the owner of a horse I was supposed to be half leasing at the time. The owner was going to be going back to England for a year and I knew that daily e-mails back and fourth were going to be a no-go. I am good for a while about back and fourth e-mails, but then I get busy and stop responding. I thought a blog would be great because I could just throw up a few sentences whenever I got around to it and the owner could check at her leisure.

Things fell apart early on that lease because I was not comfortable being left with the other half-leasee and no owner. Everything happens for a reason though and because of that lease Lori told me to come and lease Lexington from her. I kept the blog going because I had given the address out to a few select friends, Lori being one of them. When I started leasing her horse she encouraged me to keep the blog going so she could read updates so we wouldn’t be calling each other back and fourth everyday.

After a few months strangers started reading the blog and commenting, which encouraged me to start posting more. Since I had more posts there was more for people to comment on and so my blog started to grow. At one point I was inspired by Mikael’s blog and decided that I would try and do a daily post. Once you get into the habit of posting everyday it just becomes part of your daily routine. Reading those early posts about Gennyral makes me laugh now because I really thought my horse would not survive. It is amazing how things can change with time.

I have had so many highs and lows in the past 2 years. The day I moved Gen to Hill Farm was so scary that I was shaking in fear as I wrote that post. The blog has seen me through bad barns and good, from working at a barn to becoming a spoiled boarder, and from placing at championships to loosing many of my equine friends. I love when I have new readers, and cherish those of you who have been on this journey with me. One of the oddest moments ever was finding out that a barn acquaintance whom I had not shared my blog found me out by doing a google search on a horse topic. One of my most precious moments was the day that we had to put Lexington down. I printed all of your comments and literally hugged them in the hopes that they would give me strength to go to the barn that night.

So thank you all for reading my blog, you have given me so much hope and comfort over the years. I look forward to at least another two years in the blogoshphere.

7 thoughts on “My 2nd Blogaversary!

  1. Happy Blogaversary!!!

    Girl, it’s been great getting to know you over the last couple years. You’ve been on one heck of a ride 😉

    I think its wild we started our blogs on the same day, two years ago. Kismet huh?

    Big hugs to that mega handsome Genny, and an extra carrot too. And of course, hugs to that mega sweet handsome Phoenix as well!!

    And you had best be around for a lot longer than just “two more years”!

  2. Of course after reading this post, I had to go back and see how long I’ve had my blog- just over 2 years. Wow- it doesnt seem that long!

    I can’t say enough about how much I enjoy reading your blog. Your devotion to Gennyral has always made me feel like I have a kindred spirit out there. It is so nice to know that there are other people out there that love their horses for more reasons than just being able to ride them. There will come a day when Grif and I will no longer be able to ride and it has not once ever crossed my mind that I would part with him in favor of a younger, more ridable horse. I have always felt in the minority in that thinking….still do. It’s nice to know there are a few others out there like that as well.
    I also enjoy hearing about your experiences with Phoenix and I think your love of ribbons is really cool (you sometimes make wish I had saved all my 4-H ribbons from my early years in showing things. I had a TON of them from showing my rabbits). Then there was X’s story. I grew to love hearing about him too. In many ways, he reminded me of my boy, Grif. It was truly heartbreaking to hear about his loss. …..still- I think you handled yourself well through that whole painful time. I can only hope I will be as brave when Griffin’s time comes 😦 —–So here is a *cyber toast* to your blogaversy and I hope for many more great posts ahead….may they be many happy ones!

  3. Congrats on your blog anniversary. I’m not sure how long I’ve been tuning in, but after reading your recap, I’m hoping to find the time to read the posts from your early archives.

Leave a Reply

