My ugly cross rail class…

So I cannot even classify this as jumping because the rails were so small. Add to that the fact that I choose to trot the “course” instead of cantering it and…well…it is just not a very pretty picture! Hahaha…all well. It was all in good fun. And the funny thing is that even as ugly as this was we still got 2nd place because all but one other horse had a refusal! How funny is that? Maybe I should turn my fat spotted pony into a jumper…hahaha…or not. Don’t worry though…he will learn how to jump at some point…like really jump and not just trot over cross rails. He certainly was a brave little guy comparatively speaking.

Hahaha…how bad is that video. It just makes me laugh. Can you tell I have no eye for distances anymore (not that my eye was ever great). Feel free to mock me if you want. I am still proud. I don’t know many other people who would be willing to just go out there and try something else knowing they would most likely make a fool of themselves.

*On another note…Phoenix and I did not place very well in the flat classes. Thankfully, I have videos of them that I wanted to upload to youtube  so that my hunter friends out there can tell me what was wrong. Stupid youtube is not letting me upload the videos though. I have tried 3 times and all 3 times it says “Failed to upload because of an unknown error”. Anyone out there know what is going on and how I can fix it?

7 thoughts on “My ugly cross rail class…

  1. Phoenix would make a cute little jumper. He looks like he’d be nice and round, and use himself well over jumps with some actual height. But, he still definitely moves like a dressage horse!

    And on another completely different note, I never thought he looked all that big in pictures until I saw you ride him with shorter hunter stirrups. He looks like a big boy in this video.

    I don’t have much uploading experience with YouTube, so I’m no help there. My first favorite fix is to reboot and try again. My second favorite fix is to try a different browser (I use Firefox, but have discovered that some apps like the Facebook photo uploader only work in IE.) That’s my two cents; I want to see those flat videos!

  2. I think you guys did GREAT! He just lost “forward” but otherwise you two were rock stars!

    I can totally relate to the lack of “forward” at times… 🙂

  3. I think you guys did just fine – you could tell he was a little goosey after the first rail – like he was having fun and wanted to canter off…but you straightened him out and kept going.

    My hat is off to you – I don’t have the nerves or any skill to show and the fact that you are out there getting some experience for you and the Phoenix is just great! (a few ribbons don’t hurt either! 🙂

  4. Well done! Tucker’s first few shows as a baby looked about the same. Trotting courses of tiny little fences that he basically stepped over. All you want at this age is for your baby to go in and have a positive experience, which he did. Don’t get too hung up on “pretty” right now, he’s just getting the mileage that he needs. He’s just a baby and didn’t do anything naughty, so I’d say it was a good day all in all! As for the hack classes, I’m interested to see the video. My guess would be that your boy has a lot of knee action, which (I think) is a good thing in dressage, but is the opposite of what they are looking for in a hunter under saddle class. There may be some things you can do to improve the overall look, which is why I’d love to see the video, but part of it is just their natural way of going, which you can’t alter too much. But don’t get too hung up on it, there are many very athletic and talented horses out there who aren’t hack winners. Tell Phoenix I said “good boy!”

  5. I would like to see the video too. I think Phoenix has the “dressage horse” look to him, which may be the reason he didn’t place well on the flat. Also, and this is sad, a lot of hunter judges are looking for Thoroughbred/ Warmblood types and they don’t give high scores to horses who don’t fit that type. I thought about buying an Arabian before I bought my current horse (a Thoroughbred), and all my experienced show hunter friends told me not to because she would not be judged fairly in the hunter ring.
    Anyway, I think you guys looked great and it’s nice to see someone like me who is new to the hunter ring!

Leave a Reply

